The Best Booze You Aren’t Drinking

Look at those faces ladies and gentlemen. Do those look like faces that casually sipped a few cocktails before going out to celebrate the (arguably more) drunk girl on the left’s birthday? Do those attires say, we slug back Smirnoff on the weekends? The answer to both of those questions is a resounding NO. I’m going to let you in on the best kept secret in the wonderful world of vodka… we were drinking Akvinta. Don’t say “God bless you,” I didn’t sneeze. That’s the name of a vodka that puts Grey Goose and Belvedere to shame. I was recently sent a bottle of Akvinta to review and share my thoughts with the world*. Not one to turn down free alcohol (or the ego-inflation of this little blog being asked to review a product), I quickly obliged. I didn’t want to sit in my apartment and sample the goods by myself, so when my besties birthday rolled around, it seemed like the perfect occasion to bust out the good stuff. Here’s what you need to know: 

1) Akvinta is being marketed as an “honest” vodka. I have to be honest myself, and say I’m not totally in love with their marketing approach, but I do like what this means. This vodka is all about vodka. It’s not about tasting like whipped cream or cake batter. It’s organic, Kosher (shalom!) and is – get this – a blend of Italian wheat and Croatian spring water. Sans sugar and perservatives. I mean come on. Throw in the fact that it’s triple distilled and QUINTUPLE filtered and this is vodka the way vodka was supposed to be drank.

2) It’s premium, and a little snooty – but when you’re getting dressed in your finest Friday night attire, you want a drink that’s a betchy as you are. Hell, its name is a combination of three Latin words (Aqua – water, Vinum – wine, Quinta – five, like their filtration process). Take that other premium vodka named after a large dirty bird that shits all over the park.

3) It gets you really, really drunk. Ok, fine, I know it’s not the vodka that has the power to get you more wasted than other lesser vodkas. But here’s the thing – it tastes good. Our drinks consisted of a healthy pouring of Akvinta, a splash of club soda and a squeeze of lemon and lime. Ordinarily, the first 1.5 drinks of this recipe requires a little less of a healthy splash to avoid being poisoned by the burn of a less than premium vodka. I hate to sound like a stuffy liquor snob, but this stuff is smooth.

Seriously people, heed my warning — your drunken revelries will suffer if you don’t crack into a bottle of Akvinta soon. Find more info here: akvintausa.com/

Happy boozing.

*I didn’t receive any monetary compensations for this post, just the bottle of Akvinta that was amazing and quickly consumed. All views published here are my own.

Posted on July 9, 2012, in sponsored and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’ve seen ads for this a lot recently. Maybe I should check it out!

Leave a Reply

